5 Books to Read if You Love The Handmaid’s Tale

 

The Testaments, Margaret Atwood’s long awaited sequel to The Handmaid Tale, was one of the most anticipated books of this year. Of course it’s been one of the best sellers so far, and is topping all of the Best Of 2019 lists.

If you’re caught up on the books (and probably the Hulu show too!) here are some books with a similar vibe that you’ll likely devour as well!

5 Books if You Love The Handmaid’s Tale

 

The Power by Naomi Alderman

This novel explores a world very similar to our own except with the distinct difference that women have the power. This is not only figurative but literal. Teenage girls possess a paranormal ability to inflict great physical harm on others.

 

 

Future Home of the Living God by Louise Erdrich

If you’re familiar with any of Erdrich’s other works, you’re probably wondering why one of her novels is on this list! Her latest release is a far cry from her straight up literary fiction. Here we have a world similar to own, and then evolution begins to move backwards. Pregnant women are rounded up by the government, and confined. One young woman flees in an effort to protect herself and her fetus. The books is written as a journal she is keeping for her unborn, making the narrative deeply emotional.

 

The Water Cure by Sophie Mackintosh

Three sisters are raised in isolation on an island. Their father is the only man they’ve ever seen, and after he disappears, they withdraw even further into their habitat. Then three men wash ashore, and the sisters are faced with feelings and urges they have never known before.

 

Second Born by Amy A. Bartol

This is the first in a young adult series that plays on myths about birth order. In this world, a second born child becomes property of the government. Third children are not permitted, while the first born hold the most power.

Parable of the Sower by Octavia Butler

Butler is considered one of the mothers of modern science fiction. First published in 1993, and set in 2025, this novel tells the story of a young woman whose “super power” is hyper-empathy. When her family is killed, she is forced to leave the safety of their gated community. Now she must join other survivors in a world full of pain and suffering she had not been aware of but can feel intensely.


 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply