Five Books to Read if You Loved The Silent Patient

I listen to audiobooks more in warmer weather and have been on a thriller kick lately. I like fast paced, engaging listens and save romance novels and literary fiction for reading in physical form.

The Silent Patient was the 2019 Goodreads Choice Awards winner in the Mystery & Thriller category. If you’re one of the many readers who loved it, I’m guessing you’re a fan of an unreliable narrator. Here are a few more that will keep you stumped from start to finish!

 

Five Thrillers to Read if You Loved The Silent Patient

The Wives by Tarryn Fisher

This is a juicy thriller about marriage. The main character is talking directly to the reader, sharing her dirty secrets. She is married to a man with two other wives, though she doesn’t know them or even know their names. This arrangement suited everyone for a long time. Until suddenly, it didn’t anymore. What follows is a fast paced, frantic story that bounces all over the place. It will keep your mind working the entire time, trying to figure it out. 

The Last Flight by Julie Clark

This is super suspenseful mystery, weaving together the stories of two very different women. Claire and Eva meeting in an airport bar. Both desperate to escape their lives, they swap plane tickets. But when one of the planes crashes, things become even more complicated. The story touches on heavy subjects such as domestic violence, drug abuse, sexism, and grief. This is a compulsive read that proves things are not always as they appear on the surface.

Bring Me Back by BA Paris

A rollercoaster of a story that will leave you reeling. Finn is moving on with his life after his girlfriend, Layla, disappeared 12 years ago. He just so happens to be moving on with Layla’s sister. None of the characters are likable, everyone is lying and sneaking around! Generally I’d want at least one character to root for, yet not having that made it easier to get fully immersed in the story. I couldn’t put it down, desperately wanting to know what happened next. 

The Other Woman by Sandie Jones

A deliciously suspenseful story that’s addictive all the way through. Emily finally finds the man of her dreams in Adam. While they begin to plan a future together, it becomes increasingly clear to Emily that his mother is not quite right. Seemingly sweet and helpful to everyone else, Pammie’s hidden maliciousness toward Emily is maddening.  The story is spectacular, and Jones does an amazing job weaving all the separate threads together.

Lock Every Door by Riley Sager

This is a contemporary thriller with an old timey feel. It’s modern yet reminiscent of Agatha Christie and the vintage “who done it” trope. The creepy vibe hits the reader from the start and never leaves. From the moment Jules learns about the apartment sitting gig, you’ll think “Okay this is a bad deal, she shouldn’t do it.” Yet it’s not one of those novels where the protagonist makes stupid choices and you hate her for it. Jules is desperate, lonely, and totally relatable. It’s a fast paced story with straight forward writing. The scenery is described wonderfully and adds to the atmosphere as well as a cast of unique, quirky characters.


I hope you find these novels as thrilling and enjoyable as The Silent Patient. As always, I’d love to hear your thoughts!


Leave a Reply