5 Books to Read if You Loved Verity by Colleen Hoover

I was late to the party on this one, but I did finally read Verity at the end of last year. It’s an intense psychological thriller loaded with twists.

Sometimes when I finish a book like that, all I want is another one that will keep me just as engaged. So here are a few more titles you can read if you’re craving the intensity of Verity.

5 Books to Read if You Loved Verity by Colleen Hoover

Too Good to Be True by Carola Lovering

Oh this book was a delicious treat! I listened to the audiobook and it was like watching a slow motion train wreck. I could see all the terrible things coming but I couldn’t stop listening, and I was dying to know how it all turned out. Plus, the narration is top notch which added to the mystery and emotion. I don’t want to give away much of the plot because experiencing it without expectation was part of what made it so good. I’ll just say we get it’s a love story from three different perspectives that eventually overlap. It’s a dramatic and compelling story from start to finish.

Goodnight Beautiful by Aimee Molloy

I listened to this audiobook, and was recommending it to people before I’d even finished! It’s a juicy domestic thriller but I’m not going to say anything about the plot because I found it a great experience without any hints. We get alternating points of view from various characters. All the narrators were great, giving their characters personality and contributing to the suspense. I was hooked from start to finish and highly recommend it for a quick entertatining read.

Believe Me by JP Delaney

This book is a wild ride. An out of work actress desperate for cash actress has an opportunity to play on both sides of a murder investigation. I listened to the audio book, which has high production, cut scenes, and multiple fantastic narrators. I can’t imagine it would be nearly as powerful in print. The best thing about it? I had no idea what was going on the entire time, and I loved every second of it! Just when I thought I had a grasp of what was going on, I’d learn something new that knocked me off course. It’s hard to find a mystery/thriller that catches me off guard these days, and this one did an unbelievable job!

Bring Me Back by BA Paris

Rarely does a thriller leave me reeling the way this one did. Here we have a bit of an anti-hero in Finn, who is moving on with his life after his girlfriend, Layla, disappeared 12 years ago. He just so happens to be moving on with Layla’s sister. None of the characters are likable, everyone is lying and sneaking around. Generally I want at least one character to root for, yet not having that made it easier to get fully immersed in the flow of the story. I couldn’t put it down, desperately wanting to know what happened next. 

Who Is Maud Dixon? by Amanda Andrews

This one is a dark and twisty. The story is compelling and unique, so I wanted to know what was going to happen next. I generally don’t like it when I don’t find any of the characters in a story likable but it worked here. They are willing to do whatever it takes to get what they want. Florence believes that she’s destined to become a famous writer. When she gets the chance to become the assistant to “Maud Dixon,” a well known anonymous novelist, Florence thinks this is her big chance. And while everything seems perfect at first, it quickly becomes apparent there is something fishy going on.


Leave a Reply