6 Books to Read if You Loved Big Little Lies

Regardless of whether you’re drawn to this post because you’re a fan of Liane Moriarty’s novel by this title or the HBO series based on the book, you obviously appreciate a juicy domestic drama!

Here are some more novels about people whose lives are not what they appear to be on the surface.

6 Books to Read if You Loved Big Little Lies

Our House by Louise Candlish

Fiona returns to her home after a few days out of town to discover strangers moving in. She’s adamant there has been a mistake, but her soon to be ex husband and children are all missing. What follows is the slow unraveling of a complex, twisted story of betrayal, family, and fear. Told from alternating points of view and timelines, Candlish does a fantastic job of making this incredibly complicated story flow smoothly. 

Necessary People by Anna Pitoniak

On the surface, this is a breezy beach read, but it’s actually a fascinating exploration into toxic female friendships so many women experience early in life. Violet is ambitious, and Stella uses her connections to keep up with her friend’s achievements. While their relationship seems extreme, I don’t think it’s too far off the mark from some realities. Violet’s story says a lot about how ambitious women must scramble to be successful.

The Birthday Girl by Melissa de la Cruz

At forty, it appears Ellie has everything she ever wanted in life. Except
things are what they seem on the surface. Ellie has many secrets, one being what happened on the night of her sixteenth birthday. Everything crumbles in one evening, when Ellie can’t keep it all together anymore. This is a story about the consequences of living a life of secrets.

The Party by Robyn Harding

A wealthy family holds a Sweet Sixteen celebration for their daughter. They are a picture perfect family. And then things go horribly wrong. In the aftermath of a tragic accident, dark secrets are revealed and the truth comes to light.

Careful What You Wish For by Hallie Ephron

 Emily is a professional organizer who makes interesting, potentially criminal discoveries when she takes on some new clients. Add to that she’s married to a pack rat who starts behaving erratically and there’s a lot of messes for Emily to clean up!

Miracle Creek by Angie Kim

At the center of this novel is an immigrant family who own a controversial alternative medical therapy business. After a horrible accident, and threads unravel to figure out whether it was intentional and who is to blame. The scences flash between a trial currently happening and the time leading up to the incident a year prior. Through these flashbacks, the reader gets little snippets of the character’s lives and motivations. 


What do you think of my list? Are there any others I should add?


Leave a Reply