6 Books to Read if You Loved The Four Winds by Kristin Hannah

The Four Winds, Kristin Hannah’s 24th book, was published earlier this year with rave reviews. A work of historical fiction, it tells a sweeping story of one woman’s determination to save her family from the Dust Bowl.

If you enjoyed this tale, here are five other novels and one work of non-fiction that you should read as well.

6 Books to Read if You Loved The Four Winds by Kristin Hannah

The Girls in the Stilt House by Kelly Mustian

Set in 1920s Mississippi, this novel tells the story of two teenage girls thrown into an unlikely friendship by a murder. As the two girls are drawn deeper into a dangerous world, they must come to terms with a hidden past that connects them in ways that could cost them their lives.

Pachinko by Min Jin Lee

This story follows four generations of a poor Korean immigrant family living in Japan in the 20th century. It begins when the teenage daughter of a disabled fisherman is impregnated by a wealthy married man. This epic novel is focused on complex characters who evolve over the course of generations.

The Exiles by Christina Baker Kline

This novel takes place during Australia’s colonization. We get the story from the perspectives of three women. One is a young nanny, banished to Australia after being seduced and impregnated by her employer’s son. The second was sentenced to Australia for stealing. The third is an orphaned daughter of the aboriginal chief of the Lowreenne tribe. All three women form friendships as they navigate life in this new society.

The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

This story also comes to us from the perspectives of three women, all of whose husbands were executed for their roles in an attempt to assassinate Hitler. The women come together in a crumbling estate to raise their children. This novel explores the consequences of war on a deep level.

The Driest Season by Meghan Kenny

Set in Wisconsin in the 1940’s, this novel is the story of a a teenaged girl dealing with the sudden death of her father. While a war goes on in another part of world, this family is forced to deal with the consequences of their new reality.

The Worst Hard Time: The untold story of those who survived the Great American Dust Bowl by Timothy Egan

For those interested in the actual history behind The Four Winds, this work of non-fiction is in-depth reportage. With great detail, Egan chronicles the dust storms, and follows a dozen families through the lead up to and consequences of them.


Leave a Reply